I’ve been laid off – my first steps and thoughts

Posted on 06.08.2013

12


I’ve been fired – (once)

I’ve quit (several times)

I’ve never been given a lay off notice… until now.

The School District of Philadelphia notified me through the mail that my employment with them has been suspended – in essence, I’ve been laid off.

So, I’m sharing this with you all because I feel overwhelmed by this new experience – I’m sharing this before I do anything else because already there is an outpouring of support and that too is overwhelming.  I need a chance to breath, to reflect and to share.  Solutions will come but first I want to share what this is like.

This layoff notice is because of a budget shortfall in our district which the State, City and my union haven’t helped to fix.  But it feels much more personal right now.   I interpret this layoff notice as a message that I’m not wanted or needed and despite evidence to the contrary, I fear that I will not be wanted or needed as a teacher in the future.

Teaching students is a gift, I love my job and it really sucks that right now, I won’t be doing that next year.

I’m scared that I will not get another job teaching students.

What I am doing about this:

  • I’ve taken my dog for a long walk to process this news; it was great and Ivy is tuckered out.
  • I’m reaching out to specific people who I want to help me problem solve this monster of unemployment; some for professional advice, other’s for emotional council, other’s to let off physical steam and others for a combination.
  • I’m making a list of what my options are, who I will contact and what the priorities are.
    • One immediate action is that I will file for un-employment.
  • I will blog about this process as I go through it.

What you can do:

  • Tell me you love me and give me a hug.
  • Ask me how I am and then move on – I’ll give you a brief synopsis of how I’m feeling or what I’m doing but no need to dwell on this.  Our relationship is way more interesting to me then the stressful process of gaining new employment.
    • Please do not feel obligated to help, I am actively working on this… now read the next line
  • Keep your ear out for any sort of opportunity that you think would be a good fit for me.  I’m not necessarily looking for another teaching gig; although I would love to have one above anything else.
  • Share the news with friends, I am trying to spread the word but this is not news that needs to be kept secret.

My life is a full and wonderful one because of the people in it.  I am counting on everyone’s love, support and help as I look for more work.  So, I’m not sure where this road of unemployment will take me, but I’m hoping to have you along with me!

Posted in: Uncategorized